Free Web Hosting Provider - Web Hosting - E-commerce - High Speed Internet - Free Web Page
Search the Web



The purpose of the Order of the Arrow is fourfold:
To recognize those Scout campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives
To develop and maintain camping traditions and spirit
To promote Scout camping
To crystallize the Scout habit of helpfulness into a life purpose of leadership in cheerful service to others



The Order of the Arrow (OA) was founded by Dr. E. Urner Goodman and Carroll A. Edson in 1915 at the Treasure Island Camp of the Philadelphia Council, Boy Scouts of America. It became an official program experiment in 1922 and was approved as part of the Scouting program in 1934. In 1948 the OA, recognized as the BSA's national brotherhood of honor campers, became an official part of the national camping program of the Boy Scouts of America. Today, the OA is recognized as Scouting's National Honor Society.
The OA has more than 181,000 members located in lodges affiliated with more than 310 BSA local councils.
To become a member, a youth must be a registered member of a Boy Scout troop or Varsity Scout team and hold First Class rank. The youth must have experienced 15 days and nights of camping during the two years before his election. The 15 days and nights must include one, but no more than one, long-term camp consisting of six consecutive days and five nights of resident camping, approved and under the auspices and standards of the Boy Scouts of America. The balance of the camping must be overnight, weekend, or other short-term camps. Scouts are elected to the Order by their fellow troop or Varsity team members, following approval by the Scoutmaster or Varsity Scout Coach.

The induction ceremony, called the Ordeal, is conducted at Camp Durant twice per year, once during Spring Inductions and once during Fall Fellowship, and is the first step toward full membership in the Order of the Arrow.  During the experience candidates are put through a series of trials which will test their willingness to serve others and put others needs before their own.  The trials are designed to symbolize and teach significant scout values.

Brotherhood Membership
After 10 months of service as an Ordeal member, and fulfilling certain requirements, a member may take part in the Brotherhood Trail and ceremony, which places further emphasis on the ideals of Scouting and the Order. Completion of the trail and ceremony signifies full membership in the OA.  A Brotherhood Trail is offered twice per year to Ordeal members, once at Pow-Wow and once at Conclave.  There is no fee for Brotherhood conversion.

Vigil Honor
After two years of service as a Brotherhood member, and with the approval of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, a Scout or Scouter may be recognized with the Vigil Honor for outstanding service to Scouting, his lodge, and his community. This honor is bestowed by special selection and is limited to one person for every 50 members registered with the lodge each year.
Each Order of the Arrow lodge is granted a charter from the National Council, BSA, upon annual application by the local council. The OA lodge helps the local council provide a quality Scouting program through recognition of Scouting spirit and performance, development of youth leadership and service, promotion of Scout camping and outdoor programs, and enhancement of membership tenure.
An Order of the Arrow section consists of lodges within a geographic area of the region. Once every year, representatives of lodges in the section come together for a conclave to share in fellowship, skills, and training.  All of the elected section chiefs form the conference committee for a national Order of the Arrow event, which is held under the guidance of the national Order of the Arrow Committee.
National Chief and Vice Chief
The national chief and vice chief are Arrowmen (youth members) selected by the section chiefs, who form the national Order of the Arrow conference committee. They serve as members of the national Order of the Arrow Committee, representing the youth on national OA policy. They also serve as the presiding officers for the national OA event. They are advised in their responsibilities by the national committee chairman and director of the Order of the Arrow.

More information may be found in the Order of the Arrow Guide for Officers and Advisers, No. 34997A


2006 Pinehurst Troop 7

Site hosted by: Freeservers Web Hosting


Troop 7

Pinehurst, North Carolina

Troop 7 Order of the Arrow members are part of the Natisihi Chapter of the Occoneechee Lodge 104.